The Association of Doctoral Programs in
Criminology and Criminal Justice

Membership Directory

Dr. Michael D. White, Director
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Arizona State University
411 North Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004-0685
mdwhite1@asu.edu
602-496-2351
http://ccj.asu.edu/

Dr. John Cencich, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
California University of Pennsylvania
250 University Ave., Box 30
California, PA 15419
Cencich@calu.edu
724.255.7667
https://www.calu.edu/academics/graduate/doctoral/criminal-justice/index.aspx

Carter Hay, Graduate Director
College of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Florida State University
634 W. Call Street
Tallahassee, FL 32306
chay@fsu.edu
850-644-7651
http://www.criminology.fsu.edu/p/academic-deg-doctoral.php

Dr. Leah E. Daigle, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Georgia State University
55 Park Place
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-413-1037
ldaigle@gsu.edu
http://aysps.gsu.edu/cj

Dr. Allison D. Redlich, Professor
Criminology, Law and Society
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MS 4F4
Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-5835
aredlich@gmu.edu
http://cls.gmu.edu

Dr. Bruce Sales, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
Indiana University
302 Sycamore Hall
Bloomington, IN 47405
bdsales@indiana.edu
812-856-1324
https://criminaljustice.indiana.edu/

Dr. Erika Davis Frenzel, Doctoral Coordinator
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
411 North Walk
Wilson Hall 208
Indiana, PA 15705
dvmm@iup.edu
(724) 357-2720
https://iup.edu/criminology/grad/criminology-phd/

Dr. Deborah Koetzle
Doctoral Program in Criminal Justice
CUNY Graduate Center
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
524 West 59th Street
Suite 631 Haaren Hall
New York NY, 10019
crjphd@jjay.cuny.edu
212-621-3758
https://www.gc.cuny.edu/Page-Elements/Academics-Research-Centers-Initiatives/Doctoral-Programs/Criminal-Justice

Dr. Mary Finn, Director
School of Criminal Justice
Michigan State University
544 Baker Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824-1118
mfinn@msu.edu
517-355-2197
http://www.cj.msu.edu/~academic/phd.html

Dr. Andrew J. (AJ) Myer, Assistant Professor & Graduate Coordinator
Department of Criminal Justice and Political Science
North Dakota State University
NDSU Dept. 2315, PO Box 6050
Fargo, ND 58105-6050
Andrew.J.Myer@ndsu.edu
701-231-7515
http://www.ndsu.edu/cjps/criminal_justice/graduate_program/

Dr. Thomas J. Vicino, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
College of Social Sciences and Humanities
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Northeastern University
204 Churchill Hall
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
t.vicino@northeastern.edu
617-373-3327
https://cssh.northeastern.edu/sccj/

Scott R. Maggard, Ph.D., Graduate Program Director
Ph.D. in Criminology & Criminal Justice
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA 23529
Phone (757) 683-5528
Fax (757) 683-5634
smaggard@odu.edu
http://al.odu.edu/sociology/phdprogram

Dr. Jeremy Staff
Department of Sociology
The Pennsylvania State University
917 Oswald Tower,
University Park, PA 16802-1304 Phone: (814) 865-4560
Fax: (814) 863-7216
Email: jus25@psu.edu

Dr. Myrna Cintron, Dept. Head
College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology
Prairie View A&M University
P.O. Box 519
MS 2600
Prairie View, TX 77446-0519
mycintron@pvamu.edu
936-857-3831
http://acad.pvamu.edu/content/juv_just/

Dr. Elizabeth Griffiths, Graduate Program Director
School of Criminal Justice
Rutgers University, Newark
123 Washington Street
Newark, NJ 07102
elizabeth.griffiths@rutgers.edu
973-353-3303
http://www.newark.rutgers.edu/rscj/index.shtml

Dr. Danielle L. Boisvert, CJ Graduate Programs Director
College of Criminal Justice
Sam Houston State University
Box 2296
Huntsville, TX 77341-2296
dxb014@shsu.edu
936-294-1644
https://www.shsu.edu/academics/criminal-justice-old/departments/criminal-justice-and-criminology/index.html

Dr. Bryan Kinney, Director
School of Criminology
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, British Columbia
Canada V5A 1S6
bkinney@sfu.ca
778-782-3892
https://www.sfu.ca/criminology/grad/PhD/phdreq.html

Dr. Julie Hibdon, Graduate Program Director
Criminology and Criminal Justice Department
Southern Illinois University
MC 4504
Carbondale, IL 62901
jhibdon@siu.edu
618-453-6362
http://ccj.siu.edu

Dr. Olga Semukhina, Associate Professor
Department of Criminal Justice
Tarleton State University
10850 Texan Rider Dr.
Fort Worth, TX 76036
semukhina@tarleton.edu
817-717-3686
https://www.tarleton.edu/degrees/doctoral/phd-criminal-justice/index.html

Dr. Cathryn Rosen, Chair
Department of Criminal Justice
Temple University
1115 W. Berks Mall
Philadelphia, PA 19122
crosen@temple.edu
215-204-1089
https://www.cla.temple.edu/criminal-justice/graduate/

Dr. Jasmine M. Drake, Graduate Program Director
Department of the Administration of Justice
Texas Southern University
3100 Cleburne St.
Houston, TX 77001
713-313-7312
jasmine.drake@TSU.EDU
www.tsu.edu/ajphd

Dr. Mark Stafford, Doctoral Program Coordinator
Doctoral Program in Criminal Justice
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
stafford@txstate.edu
512-245-5410
http://www.cj.txstate.edu/degrees-programs/doctoral.html

Dr. Kareem L. Jordan, Graduate Director
Department of Justice, Law and Society
The American University
4400 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20016
Jordan@american.edu
202-885-1866
https://www.american.edu/spa/phd/phd-jlcr.cfm

Diana Mancini, Assistant Dean
School of Criminal Justice
University at Albany, SUNY
135 Western Ave Draper Hall Room 219
Albany, NY 12203
mancini@uamail.albany.edu
518-591-8730
http://www.albany.edu/scj/grad.htm

Dr. Tusty ten Bensel, Graduate Coordinator
Department of Criminal Justice
University of Arkansas, Little Rock
2801 South University, Ross Hall #515
Little Rock, AR 72204-1009
ixzohra@ualr.edu
501-569-7665
http://ualr.edu/criminaljustice/

Dave Halgren, Graduate Coordinator
Criminology, Law and Society
University of California, Irvine
2361 Social Ecology II
Irvine, CA 92697-7080
dhalgren@uci.edu
949-824-1442
https://cls.soceco.uci.edu/pages/phd-program

Eugene A. Paoline III, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Program Director
University of Central Florida
Department of Criminal Justice
12805 Pegasus Drive
Orlando, Florida 32816-1600
(407) 823-4946

Dr. Edward Latessa, Director
School of Criminal Justice
University of Cincinnati
P.O. Box 210389
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0389
edward.latessa@uc.edu
513-556-5832
http://www.uc.edu/criminaljustice/graduate/Gradprogramrequirements.html

Aaron Kupchik, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
University of Delaware
329 Smith Hall
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-3267
http://www.udel.edu/soc/gradpage.htm

Dr. Jodi Lane, Graduate Coordinator
Criminology, Law and Society of Florida
University of Florida
P.O. Box 117330
Gainesville, FL 32611-7330
jlane@ufl.edu
352-392-0265x212
https://soccrim.clas.ufl.edu/graduate/criminology/

Dr. Paul Schewe, Graduate Director
Criminology, Law and Justice
University of Illinois at Chicago
1007 West Harrison Street
3040 BSB MC 141
Chicago, IL 60607
schewepa@uic.edu
312-413-2626
http://clj.las.uic.edu/

Dr. Kristin Swartz, Director of Graduate Studies
University of Louisville
2301 South Third Street
210 Brigman Hall
Louisville, KY 40292
kmswar01@louisville.edu
502-852-3240
https://louisville.edu/justiceadministration

Dr. Branko Lobnikar, Vice Dean for Research
Criminal Justice and Security
University of Maribor
Kotnikova ulica 8
SI 1000 Ljubljana
Slovania
Branko.Lobnikar@fvv.uni-mb.si
+386 1 3008 345
https://www.fvv.um.si/en/students/dr.html

Dr. Min Xie, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Maryland
2220 LeFrak Hall
College Park, MD 20742-8235
301-405-7063
mxie@umd.edu@umd.edu
https://ccjs.umd.edu/landing/Graduate

Dr. Pauline Brennan, Ph.D. Program Director
Criminology and Justice Studies
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
113 Wilder Street, HSSB
Lowell, MA 01854
(978) 934-4778 - office
Pauline_Brennan@uml.edu
http://www.uml.edu/FAHSS/Criminal-Justice/Programs-of-Study/graduate-programs/Doctoral-Program.aspx

Dr. Elaine Eggleston Doherty, Graduate Program Director
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Missouri, St. Louis
324 Lucas Hall
One University Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63121-4499
314-516-5033
http://www.umsl.edu/~ccj/index.html

Dr. Tamara D. Herold, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
University of Nevada, Las Vegas
4505 Maryland Pkwy, #5009
Las Vegas, NV 89154-5009
tamara.herold@unlv.edu
702.895.5903
https://www.unlv.edu/criminaljustice/grad

Dr. Gaylene Armstrong, Director
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Nebraska, Omaha
6001 Dodge Street, 218 CPACS
Omaha, NE 68182-0149
Tel: 402.554.2610
Email: garmstrong@unomaha.edu
http://www.unomaha.edu/criminaljustice/

Dr. David L. Myers, Director
Criminal Justice PhD Program
University of New Haven
Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice and Forensic Sciences
300 Boston Post Road
West Haven, CT 06516
DMyers@newhaven.edu
203-479-4883
http://www.newhaven.edu/36182/

Dr. Bruce DiCristina, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
University of North Dakota
Columbia Hall Room #1101
501 N. Columbia Rd., Stop 8050
Grand Forks, ND 58202-8050
bruce.dicristina@und.edu
701-777-3473
https://arts-sciences.und.edu/academics/criminal-justice/

Dr. Barbara A. Koons-Witt, Graduate Director
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of South Carolina
1305 Greene Street
Columbia, SC 29208
803-777-9921
bakoons@mailbox.sc.edu
http://www.artsandsciences.sc.edu/crju/

Dr. Ráchael Powers, Graduate Director
Department of Criminology
University of South Florida
4202 East Fowler Avenue SOC 107
Tampa, FL 33620-8100
813-974-9531
powersr@usf.edu

Dr. Nicole Piquero, Program Head
Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Texas - Dallas
800 West Campbell Road, GR 31
Richardson, TX 75080-3021
972-883-2935
https://epps.utdallas.edu/about/programs/criminology-and-criminal-justice/

Dr. Steven L. McMurtry, Professor and Doctoral Program Director (Associate Member)
Helen Bader School of Social Welfare
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
P.O. Box 786
Milwaukee, WI 53211
Phone: 414-229-2249
Email: mcmurtry@uwm.edu
https://uwm.edu/socialwelfare/doctor-philosophy-social-welfare

Christine Horne, Interim Chair and Professor
Washington State University
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Johnson Tower 701B, WSU Pullman
Pullman, WA 99164-4872
horne@wsu.edu
509-335-3912
https://crmj.wsu.edu/graduate-studies/ph-d-in-criminal-justice/