The Association of Doctoral Programs in
Criminology and Criminal Justice

Membership Directory

Dr. Michael D. White, Director
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Arizona State University
411 North Central Ave
Phoenix, AZ 85004-0685
mdwhite1@asu.edu
602-496-2351
http://ccj.asu.edu/

Dr. John Cencich, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
California University of Pennsylvania
250 University Ave., Box 30
California, PA 15419
Cencich@calu.edu
724.255.7667
http://www.calu.edu/academics/online-programs/doctorate-criminal-justice/index.htm

Carter Hay, Graduate Director
College of Criminology and Criminal Justice
Florida State University
634 W. Call Street
Tallahassee, FL 32306
chay@fsu.edu
850-644-7651
http://www.criminology.fsu.edu/p/academic-deg-doctoral.php

Dr. Eric L. Sevigny, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Andrew Young School of Policy Studies
Georgia State University
140 Decatur Street
1225 Urban Life Building
Atlanta, GA 30303
404-413-1038
esevigny@gsu.edu
http://aysps.gsu.edu/cj

Dr. Allison D. Redlich, Professor
Criminology, Law and Society
George Mason University
4400 University Drive, MS 4F4
Fairfax, VA 22030
703-993-5835
aredlich@gmu.edu
http://cls.gmu.edu

Dr. William Pridemore, Graduate Director
Department of Criminal Justice
Indiana University
302 Sycamore Hall
Room 313
Bloomington, IN 47405
wpridemo@indiana.edu
812-856-2220
http://www.indiana.edu/~crimjust/

Dr. Jennifer Roberts, Doctoral Coordinator
Department of Criminology
Indiana University of Pennsylvania
200 Wilson Hall Room 205
Indiana, PA 15705
jroberts@iup.edu

Dr. Deborah Koetzle
Doctoral Program in Criminal Justice
CUNY Graduate Center
John Jay College of Criminal Justice
899 Tenth Avenue Suite 636T
New York NY, 10019
crjphd@jjay.cuny.edu
212-237-8988
www.gc.cuny.edu/Page-Elements/Academics-Research-Centers-Initiatives/Doctoral-Programs/criminaljustice

Dr. Mary Finn, Director
School of Criminal Justice
Michigan State University
544 Baker Hall
East Lansing, MI 48824-1118
mfinn@msu.edu
517-355-2197
http://www.cj.msu.edu/~academic/phd.html

Dr. Amy Stichman, Graduate Coordinator
Criminal Justice and Political Science
North Dakota State University
118 Criminal Justice and Public Policy Building
NDSU Dept. 2315
Fargo, ND 58105-6050
amy.stichman@ndsu.edu
701-231-5697
http://www.ndsu.edu/cjps/criminal_justice/graduate_program/

Dr. Natasha Frost, Associate Dean of Graduate Studies
College of Criminal Justice
Northeastern University
204 Churchill Hall
360 Huntington Avenue
Boston, MA 02115
n.frost@neu.edu
617-373-4076
http://www.cj.neu.edu/graduate_programs/phD_program/index.php

Scott R. Maggard, Ph.D., Graduate Program Director
Ph.D. in Criminology & Criminal Justice
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA 23529
Phone (757) 683-5528
Fax (757) 683-5634
smaggard@odu.edu
http://al.odu.edu/sociology/phdprogram

Dr. Jeremy Staff
Department of Sociology
The Pennsylvania State University
917 Oswald Tower,
University Park, PA 16802-1304 Phone: (814) 865-4560
Fax: (814) 863-7216
Email: jus25@psu.edu

Dr. Myrna Cintron, Dept. Head
College of Juvenile Justice and Psychology
Prairie View A&M University
P.O. Box 519
MS 2600
Prairie View, TX 77446-0519
mycintron@pvamu.edu
936-857-3831
http://acad.pvamu.edu/content/juv_just/

Dr. Robert "Bob" Apel, Graduate Program Director
School of Criminal Justice
Rutgers University, Newark
123 Washington Street
Newark, NJ 07102
Robert.apel@rutgers.edu
http://www.newark.rutgers.edu/rscj/index.shtml

Dr. Danielle L. Boisvert, CJ Graduate Programs Director
College of Criminal Justice
Sam Houston State University
Box 2296
Huntsville, TX 77341-2296
dxb014@shsu.edu
936-294-1644
http://www.cjcenter.org/programs/doctoral/

Dr. Robert Gorden, Director
School of Criminology
Simon Fraser University
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, B.C. B5A 1SX, Canada
rgordon@sfu.ca
778 782-4305

Dr. Tammy Kochel, Graduate Program Director
Criminology and Criminal Justice Department
Southern Illinois University
MC 4504
Carbondale, IL 62901
tkochel@siu.edu
618-453-6371
http://ccj.siu.edu

Dr. Cathryn Rosen, Chair
Department of Criminal Justice
Temple University
1115 W. Berks Mall
Philadelphia, PA 19122
crosen@temple.edu
215-204-1089
http://www.temple.edu/cj/grad/index.htm

Dr. Howard Henderson, Graduate Program Director
Department of the Administration of Justice
Texas Southern University
3100 Cleburne St.
Houston, TX 77001
713-313-6843
hendersonhm@tsu.edu
www.tsu.edu/ajphd

Dr. Wesley G. Jennings, Doctoral Program Coordinator
Doctoral Program in Criminal Justice
Texas State University
601 University Drive
San Marcos, TX 78666
jenningswgj@txstate.edu
512-245-3331
http://www.cj.txstate.edu/degrees-programs/doctoral.html

Dr. Kareem L. Jordan, Graduate Director
Department of Justice, Law and Society
The American University
4400 Massachusetts Ave., NW
Washington, DC 20016
Jordan@american.edu
202-885-1866
http://spa.american.edu/program.php?ID=27

Diana Mancini, Assistant Dean
School of Criminal Justice
University at Albany, SUNY
135 Western Ave Draper Hall Room 219
Albany, NY 12203
mancini@uamail.albany.edu
518-591-8730
http://www.albany.edu/scj/grad.htm

Dr. Tusty ten Bensel, Graduate Coordinator
Department of Criminal Justice
University of Arkansas, Little Rock
2801 South University, Ross Hall #515
Little Rock, AR 72204-1009
ixzohra@ualr.edu
501-569-7665
http://ualr.edu/criminaljustice/

Dr. John Hipp, Professor
Criminology, Law and Society
University of California, Irvine
3311 Social Ecology II
Irvine, CA 92697-7080
john.hipp@uci.edu
949-824-8247

Eugene A. Paoline III, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Program Director
University of Central Florida
Department of Criminal Justice
12805 Pegasus Drive
Orlando, Florida 32816-1600
(407) 823-4946

Dr. Edward Latessa, Director
School of Criminal Justice
University of Cincinnati
P.O. Box 210389
Cincinnati, OH 45221-0389
edward.latessa@uc.edu
513-556-5832
http://www.uc.edu/criminaljustice/graduate/Gradprogramrequirements.html

Aaron Kupchik, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Sociology and Criminal Justice
University of Delaware
329 Smith Hall
Newark, DE 19716
302-831-3267
http://www.udel.edu/soc/gradpage.htm

Dr. Jodi Lane, Graduate Coordinator
Criminology, Law and Society of Florida
University of Florida
P.O. Box 117330
Gainesville, FL 32611-7330
jlane@ufl.edu
352-392-0265x212
http://web.crim.ufl.edu/grad/phd.html

Dr. paul Schewe, Graduate Director
Criminology, Law and Justice
University of Illinois at Chicago
1007 West Harrison Street
3040 BSB MC 141
Chicago, IL 60607
schewepa@uic.edu
312-413-2626
http://clj.las.uic.edu/

Dr. George Higgins, Director of Graduate Studies
Department of Criminal Justice
University of Louisville
2301 South Third Street
208 Brigman Hall
Louisville, KY 40292
gehigg01@louisville.edu
502-852-6567
https://louisville.edu/justiceadministration

Dr. Branko Lobnikar, Chair of Policing and Security Studies
Criminal Justice and Security
University of Maribor
Kotnikova 8 1000 Ljubljana, Slovania
Branko.Lobnikar@fvv.uni-mb.si
+386 1 300 83 45 +386 1 300 8 300
http://www.fvv.uni-mb.si/en/study/postgraduate/criminal-justice-and-security--phd.aspx

Dr. Brian Johnson
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Maryland
2221 LeFrak Hall
College Park, MD 20742-8235
bjohnso2@umd.edu
http://www.ccjs.umd.edu/Graduate/phd.htm

Dr. April Pattavina, Ph.D. Program Director
Criminology and Justice Studies
University of Massachusetts-Lowell
113 Wilder Street, HSSB
Lowell, MA 01854
(978) 934-4145 - office
April_Pattavina@uml.edu
http://www.uml.edu/FAHSS/Criminal-Justice/Programs-of-Study/graduate-programs/Doctoral-Program.aspx

Dr. Elaine Eggleston Doherty, Graduate Program Director
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Missouri, St. Louis
324 Lucas Hall
One University Blvd.
St. Louis, MO 63121-4499
314-516-5033
http://www.umsl.edu/~ccj/index.html

Dr. Gaylene Armstrong, Director
School of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of Nebraska, Omaha
6001 Dodge Street, 218 CPACS
Omaha, NE 68182-0149
Tel: 402.554.2610
Email: garmstrong@unomaha.edu
http://www.unomaha.edu/criminaljustice/

Dr. David L. Myers, Director
Criminal Justice PhD Program
University of New Haven
Henry C. Lee College of Criminal Justice and Forensic Sciences
300 Boston Post Road
West Haven, CT 06516
DMyers@newhaven.edu
203-479-4883
http://www.newhaven.edu/36182/

Dr. Michael Meyer, Graduate Coordinator
Department of Criminal Justice
University of North Dakota
O'Kelly Hall Room #305
221 Centennial Dr. Stop 8050
Grand Forks, ND 58202-8050
michael.meyer2@und.nodak.edu
701-777-4181
http://www.und.edu/dept/cjs/

Dr. Barbara A. Koons-Witt, Graduate Director
Department of Criminology and Criminal Justice
University of South Carolina
1305 Greene Street
Columbia, SC 29208
803-777-9921
bakoons@mailbox.sc.edu
http://www.artsandsciences.sc.edu/crju/

Dr. Ráchael Powers, Graduate Director
Department of Criminology
University of South Florida
4202 East Fowler Avenue SOC 107
Tampa, FL 33620-8100
813-974-9531
powersr@usf.edu
http://criminology.usf.edu

Dr. Wesley Johnson
School of Criminal Justice
University of Southern Mississippi
P.O. Box 05127
Hattiesburg, MS 39406
william.w.johnson@usm.edu

Dr. Denise Paquette Boots, Criminology Program Head
Institute for Urban Policy Research
University of Texas - Dallas
800 West Campbell Road, GR 31
Richardson, TX 75080
deniseboots@utdallas.edu
972-883-6468
http://www.utdallas.edu/epps/criminology/

Dr. Craig Hemmens, Chair and Professor
Department of Criminal Justice and Criminology
Washington State University
Pullman, WA 99164-4872
509-335-4031
http://libarts.wsu.edu/crimj/index.asp